
**Warning** salmonella risk for uncooked tomatoes. June 2008, over 800 people got sick from eating contaminated tomatoes. Testing cleared the farms, inferring that the contamination was coming from further down the supply chain, possibly warehouses or distribution centers.
According to Wikipedia:
Salmonella is a genus of rod-shaped, Gram-negative, non-spore forming, predominantly motile enterobacteria with diameters around 0.7 to 1.5 µm, lengths from 2 to 5 µm, and flagella which project in all directions (i.e. peritrichous). They obtain their energy from oxidation and reduction reactions using organic sources and are facultative anaerobes; most species produce hydrogen sulfide,[1] which can readily be detected by growing them on media containing ferrous sulfate, such as TSI.
Blah Blah Blah...
What is an enterobacteria?
It means it lives in your shit, or, more precisely, the intestinal tracts of animals, including humans and birds.
How is shit contaminating tomatoes?
The number one way that shit gets into food is during slaughter. The animal's intestines are pierced, contaminating the flesh with all that nice shit, that we then eat.
Eggs get salmonella because the eggs are laid in shit and during processing the outside of the shell contaminates the stuff we eat.
Another very common way to get salmonella is by having a food worker NOT wash their hands after going poo. Then their shit gets into your food.
Doesn't that make you hungry?
As the world gets more populated, our water and food are getting contaminated. What we call food has turned into a mega-business and we are getting more and more removed from our food. Kids don't know what they are eating - many have never seen the animals they are eating - and neither do the adults.
Did you know that fruit freeze has ZERO fruit in it, or that ice cream doesn't have any dairy in it, or that "whipped topping" is another petroleum product!!??
I remember one vacation to Mexico. I did great all week, no Montezuma's Revenge [also known as E. Coli - another enterobacteria or fecal contaminant]. On the way back to the states I had a hamburger in the Mexico City airport and Montezuma came home with me. My best estimation is that the lettuce on the burger had been washed in the local water - which had E Coli in it.
Wash your hands. Wash your food. Drink clean water. Quit eating shit - and lose weight!
When you pick up a pretty little package of food just ask yourself; "How much shit do you think is really in there?"


